Guru Dattatreya gave Ashtanga Yoga

Guru DattatreyaDownload Image
Thousands of years ago,
Guru Dattatreya gave Ashtanga Yoga
(eight fold path of Yoga)
Lessons to the world, as follows,
1.Yama – truthfulness, non-receiving  of any gifts.
Moral discipline
2. Niyama –study and self-surrender to God.
3. Asana – posture
4. Pranayama – breath control exercises. 
5. Pratyahara – withdrawal of senses from
sense objects.
6. Dharana – concentration.
7. Dhyana – meditation and knowledge.
8. Samadhi – the state of being merged with
the God

This picture was submitted by Smita Haldankar.

More Pictures

  • Happy Dattatrey Jayanti
  • Happy Dattatrey Jayanti

Leave a comment